RAPS News

Stay up-to-date on what's happening at the Regional Animal Protection Society

Meet the humans: Louise Parris!

RAPS is all about the animals! But everything we do is possible because of the amazing people who make possible everything we do!

We’re introducing you to the fab folks of RAPS. This week: Meet Louise!

What is your role at RAPS?

Animal Care staff dealing with the medical care for the cats

How long have you been volunteering with RAPS?

I started volunteering in 2009 and became a staff member in 2011.

What makes you committed to RAPS?

The vision that created and upholds a caring environment like the Cat Sanctuary resonates with me.

Being able to provide a safe haven for cats deemed undesirable and unwanted (feral cats, aggressive and elderly cats, cats living with Feline Immunodeficiency Virus and Feline Leukemia Virus), as well as having a no-kill mandate is something that very few animal organizations are able to provide.

What is your favourite / least favourite part of your job?

The best part of the job is the physical work caring for and loving the cats. When a neglected, ill or aggressive cat is rescued and we are able to nurse the sick cats back to health, as well as teach the aggressive ferals to trust and love humans – that is the best feeling and the most rewarding aspect of the job.

The least favourite is the heartache and devastation when a cat passes away. It’s tough, draining and the emotional pain can linger for months, but there is comfort in knowing the cat lived a good, loving life whilst at the Sanctuary.

Tell us about yourself (where you grew up, family, pets, etc.)

I was born in England and raised in South Africa. I moved to Vancouver in 2008 as my husband was transferred here for work. We were only supposed to stay in Canada for two years before moving to the U.S., but we fell in love with B.C. and decided to stay. There’s currently four of us living in our apartment in East Vancouver: myself and my husband, along with two RAPS Cat Sanctuary alumni: Horatio and Sarah.

What do you do in your spare time?

Unfortunately, the COVID restrictions have kept me housebound for most of the year, so my spare time is spent decorating, redecorating, watering the plants, playing with the cats and watching Netflix. If the weather is accommodating, I enjoy cycling along the Seawall and, when it starts snowing, I’ll be up on the mountain skiing.

The picture of me is with one of my best boys, Wylee. Unfortunately, he does not keep still long enough to get a proper pic of his face!